15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
"Welcome to the Realm"
22:00:00 on 1999-10-08

Well, I just got done watching "Harsh Realm" and letting it sink in a bit. I can say that while I�m not entirely disappointed, I don�t know that I�ll actually stay home and watch this show when I�ve got something to do.

Yes, there are spoilers in here. If you don�t want to know, don�t read.

Given the dismal state of affairs with the last two seasons of "The X-Files", that travesty of a movie that I took the day off work to see, and the final season of "Millennium", I didn�t expect much, and at least I got more than I expected. The acting wasn�t that great, we saw the bombed-out building set in at least "Millennium", and the premise has been seen on shows like "The Twilight Zone" and "The Outer Limits".

Maybe they have some twists planned. I don�t know where they can take this show. I mean, you have all these people sent to kill this one guy. They don�t know where this guy is, or how he gets into the reality, or how he controls so much of it. Yet, this is some sort of classified military project. Excuse me? Like there wouldn�t be incredible security around such a system?

How did they know about Hobbs� dog Dexter to simulate it so exactly? Or why do they simulate places like South America? Do they simulate underwater lifeforms? Every possible animal? Do those parts of the simulation run all the time?

Imagine the computer power they have to do that simulation. And they�ve been doing this since before the Cold War ended? I don�t think so. Well, unless that retrieved crashed UFO technology is a lot better than we supposed.

If you die in the simulation, how come the people running the project go ahead and kill you? That makes no sense. I thought they wanted to kill Santiago? Why don�t they send somebody in to organize all these people into a force to fight him?

Can�t they insert virtual characters to fight him? Why not? And were these characters intelligent? So you�re telling me the government is running billions of AIs constantly, in realtime? Uh, yeah.

Well, okay, so I have to suspend disbelief. Unfortunately, too much of it.

I am starting to think that maybe it�s not that Chris Carter won�t work with new actors -- maybe new actors won�t work with Chris Carter. Gillian Anderson and Lance Hendrecksen doing bit parts. The actress who played Lucy Butler on "Millennium" is on the next episode. Terry O�Quinn makes a good villian, though. D.B. Sweeney, while not a 1013 Productions mainstay, used to do "Strange Luck" which came on before... well, something on Friday night. I can�t remember if it was "The X-Files" or "Millennium".

Or maybe it�s a loyalty thing. Looks fishy to me.

All in all? I give it five out of ten. But I don�t think a five will last on network TV very long these days.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>