15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
This would be almost perfect
22:00:00 on 2000-04-04

Strange thought for the day:
I want to start a new holiday, namely, "national file not found day." We'd celebrate it every April 4.

This begs the question of if we're going to have things like "national forbidden day" on April 3, and what about all those days we could make out of FTP, SMTP, POP3, etc, status and error codes?

Hey, I'm tired, okay?

(Re)reading:

The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson. Someday I'll get around to reading his newest book, Cryptonomicon, but I'm not counting on it.

Sing me this song:

"Why Don't You Get a Job"
by The Offspring, from "Americana"

My friend's got a girlfriend
Man he hates that bitch
He tells me every day
He says, "man I really gotta lose my chick
In the worst kind of way"

She sits on her ass
He works his hands to the bone
To give her money every payday
But she wants more dinero just to stay at home
Well my friend, you gotta say

I won't pay, I won't pay ya, no way
Why don't you get a job?
Say no way, say no way, no way
Why don't you get a job?

I guess all his money, well it isn't enough
To keep her bill collectors at bay
I guess all his money, well it isn't enough
Cause that girl's got expensive taste

I won't pay, I won't pay ya, no way
Why don't you get a job?
Say no way, say no way, no way
Why don't you get a job?

Well I guess it ain't easy doing nothing at all
But hey man, free rides just don't come along every day

(Let me tell you about my other friend now)

My friend's got a boyfriend,
Man she hates that dick
She tells me every day
He wants more dinero just to stay at home
Well my friend, you gotta say

I won't pay, I won't pay ya, no way
Why don't you get a job?
Say no way, say no way, no way
Why don't you get a job?

I won't give you no money, no way, babe,
Why don't you get a job?
Say no way, say no way, no way
Why don't you get a job?

Can you believe they want eight bucks to park in the stupid visitors' lot?


Last night I went to Moogie's office to help her learn some trivia about tables in Word '97. She's taking this class she's taking to get some new skills with MS Office, and apparently it's giving her fits. Fair enough; this is exceedingly simple stuff for anybody who is familiar with a computer, but for her it's like pulling teeth apparently. (I told her the best way to learn to use a computer is to have one and just use it, but to each their own.)

After various misadventures (like finding out that her cheesy monitor doesn't like to accept high-resolution video modes, and testing of new video modes isn't set up exactly the same in NT4 as it is in Win9x, and getting that fixed again, and printing a tax form for her, since, as usual, she can't find it in the piles of crap around the house) we finished and left in her Ferengi shuttlecraft (sorry, her truck looks like a Ferengi shuttle, which only adds to the "Moogie mystique") to go get some dinner.

Here I go, listening to fortune cookies again.

Of course, she can't let any event be a peaceful one. Sitting in the tiny Chinese restaurant, while I'm contemplating my egg drop soup and wishing I had some fried wontons to dip in it because it's just too hot to eat by spoon at the current moment, she makes an announcement:

"I'm thinking about selling everything I own except the bare necessities and moving to Tennessee."


Of course, when she went to visit her sister in Tennessee recently she came back saying that she told her that she ought to just come home to pack and go back there to live.

Like I'd want to stand in her way, right? I'd give a kidney (okay, maybe even both) to be rid of her sometimes.

Of course, this puts me in an awkward position, given that I'm pretty much bottom-feeding at the moment and trying to pull myself together, which isn't very successful. Knowing her, she'll get a wild-assed hair up her butt and say, "okay, I gave my two weeks' notice at work, and I'm moving the weekend after that, so you need to pack up your stuff and find somewhere to go." She'd do something that stupid, yes. (Like I told Gurugrrl - "I have my overpass all picked out and everything." (I just hope there's room for my books.))

On the other hand, this could be practically ideal. I mean, it'd mean no more of her stressing me out, or visiting her stress on me. What's more, there'd be more of her mind games (if she moves, I'll probably just not be taking phone calls from her on a regular basis), and no more of her sabotage (inadvertent or not).

Hey, it'd give me focus to actually do something. When everything seems futile, focus tends to be lacking.

Either way, this gives me something else to have to plan around, for the potential better or for worse.


Speaking of things that could end up being ideal, I was looking at houston.jobs.offered and found this job that was just calling to me.

It was from a local ISP that has a webhosting division. They're looking for people who grok Unix and all things web-like (development, CGI, servers, etc.). They don't care about what pieces of paper you've collected to show that you're this or that, rather, they care about what you know.

Scary.

The trick? It had been posted last Thursday. I was already a few days off the mark. I sent a resum� anyway - wish me luck.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>