15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
char *crypt(const char *key, const char *salt);
04:30:00 on 2000-04-03

Feeling:
A little ill. Allergy season in Houston is so wonderful (not), not to mention we're now the smog capital of the United States (albeit for different reasons than Los Angeles - we have lots of petrochemical refining and chemical plants here. No wonder Houston is trying to shift from being an energy and chemical industry center to a high-tech center - computer factories, software houses and engineering sweatshops don't tend to explode). Thus, I find myself with itchy eyes and a head that feels packed solid.

Mood music:

"Yesterday"
By The Beatles, from the album "Help!"

Yesterday, all my troubles seemed so far away
Now it looks as though they're here to stay
Oh, I believe in yesterday

Suddenly, I'm not half to man I used to be
There's a shadow hanging over me
Oh, yesterday came suddenly

Why she had to go I don't know she wouldn't say
I said something wrong
Now I long for yesterday

Yesterday, love was such an easy game to play
Now I need a place to hide away
Oh, I believe in yesterday

Why she had to go I don't know she wouldn't say
I said something wrong
Now I long for yesterday

Yesterday, love was such an easy game to play
Now I need a place to hide away
Oh, I believe in yesterday

Weird thought for the day:

Playing Quake with an Enigma CD in your primary CD-ROM drive is surreal.
Paralysis overtakes me sometimes.

I get to where I can't do anything. I can't function. I can't write. I can't even think straight. I get a distant look in my eye and feel like there's a huge weight on my shoulders and I shut down.

I don't always know why, though.


Lately I've had something on my mind. Something I've not been able to talk about, or even knew if there was anybody who would listen. I didn't expect to really find any sympathetic ears.

It was all touched off by my last entry. It was more than I think I wanted to say. I'd never really put it into any words before, and the idea that I was striving for this goal and never finding it made me start to silently reassess everything, something I didn't feel like I wanted to do in public.

Nonetheless, while performing this reassessment I was doing a damned good job of just stuffing my feelings into my stomach. I didn't want to think about it, even though I needed to. I was just trying to avoid thinking, period, and slid into the depths once again, and going to work. Of course, since my temp job ended a couple weeks ago, I had even more time to try to avoid thinking about things.


Finally, late one night a few days ago I was talking to someone and avoiding working on Kirk's website and working on a new toy, and just let the line of thought continue freely, following the line of reasoning to its inexorable conclusion. I realized what the whole deal was, why I wasn't writing, why I was stuffing what I was feeling down deep, why I was hiding from all my friends. It was something simple, and from my standpoint, even something obvious. I was just avoiding thinking about it because pursuit of the possibility would be destructive, futile and wrong.

But since then, I've realized I can't pursue it.

All my life I've raged against what was around me. I can't leave well enough alone, and I'm eternally unsatisfied. I couldn't accept what was in front of me.

I am where I am in life, I can't deny that. It's certainly not where I want to be. However, doing something rash, doing something obviously in my own worst interest, doing something destructive isn't going to help. I need to look at what I have accomplished to date, hold on to what I have now, and go from there, rather than switching midstream, hurting myself and others, and probably seeing nothing for it.


After the cryptic entry (some of you will know what I mean, the rest... it's not really important now), I return you to regularly scheduled entries, or at least as regular as they once were.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>