15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Download my unofficial Windows 2000 DST patch!
16:00:00 on 2007-02-08

Not so much an entry as a quick announcement.

At work we still have about 1200 Windows 2000 workstations left that haven't been migrated to Windows XP yet, but we're too cheap to buy the official Microsoft patch that is available to people with an extended support contract on Win2K. What to do?

Well, the instructions that Microsoft put up are complicated and hard for us to wrap up and push (given our current packaging guy), so we started to look around and found this source to apply the same essential patches.

Well... that makes it easy. I took it and wrapped it up in a nice little application for deployment. We're pushing it out to all our Windows 2000 machines with the next patch cycle. The one that you can download for your own use is the same as the one we are pushing around, except that a few bits of it are changed (I put my email in it; I changed the resource information so that it doesn't reflect the name of my employer (privacy, you know), and I stuck it in a zip file).

Note that if you use this you're on your own and you assume all the risk for using it. There's no warranty or support provided, and I assume no liability for its use in any case. It's given to you as-is. In my testing it works fine and we're deploying it at work (a major regional hospital system in Southeast Texas) to all our Windows 2000 workstations. More than that, I'm using it on Marilynn's computer. I'm eating my own dog food, and it's good stuff, let me tell ya.

Please note that this is only for English language builds of Windows 2000. Don't give me grief if it doesn't work on your Bangladeshi version of Windows 2000 server or somesuch. Also, it only does US timezones.

If you do end up downloading it, shoot me a quick note and let me know how it went.

Click here to download my unofficial Windows 2000 DST patch

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>