15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
The itch is back
18:40:00 on 2007-06-07

The itch is back. You know the one — the one I get occasionally to do something. Write some software that has nothing to do with managing computers (or rewriting it because "the branding is off") and has everything to do with things I myself am interested in.

Once again, I've got this urge to write some software for a personal information manager and store. Or was it a wiki? Errr, or a blog? Well, you know. All of those. A place to store my externalized mind.

What's funny is that I spent a lot of time the last couple days doing things like researching markup, checking on the status of Text_Wiki for easier implementation of the parsing and supporting Creole for the markup (although they don't support CSS or styles on the fly, etc, although Textile does, but it's not really markup for something Wiki-esque), looking at engines and so forth. I even looked for a new domain name (something clever, like "del.icio.us"), but then I am an unrepentant collector and need to let a few go.

Thoughts keep going through my head:

PHP, Perl or Python? I like Python's ability to thread. Perl annoys me, but it's got so much to offer. I like the fact that I am very adept at PHP already. I guess I can do it with this bit here, that bit there, since it's just for me and whoever might visit. Once this is running, I think I'm going to need to colocate a server or lease one and then hack it up the way I like them set up. Ugh, this will be expensive and a pain, better check Webhostingtalk to find one in Houston. But it's something I wanted for years... I shouldn't grouse about the cost...

I'm jumping the gun, though. The first move on this? I need to get my workstation running again. I think I am going to start on that tonight... if I can manage to leave work and get home so I can put the new drive into my workstation and get XP installed on it. However, I am so tired when I get up in the mornings now, I can't imagine working late into the evening on some code and then get up the next morning.

Wish me luck!

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>