15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Crap: two kinds, both smell
13:00:00 on 2005-01-31

For the last few months with only a couple exceptions, we've had to take one of the cats to the vet every weekend. The bulk of it is shots for Bucko, but both Stubby and Bucko have been sick, so off to the vet they go.

Well, now both of our kitties are on antibiotics for their respective illnesses, and apparently it's not as easy as taking a pill and wrapping it up in meat, like you'd do for a dog. Theirs comes in some foul-smelling oil suspension that has to be administered into their mouths with a syringe.

Ever tried holding down ten pounds of muscle and claws while somebody else tries shoving a tube full of the aforementioned crud in their mouth? We have, and I'm all cut up to prove it.


Last night, we decided to do medicine right before bed, and so I grab up Bucko. He weighs less than five pounds and is a scrawny little guy, so I'm not scared of being torn up by him.

Marilynn starts to put the medicine into his mouth, and he tenses up. His slick little fur slides through my hands, and he turns into a total ball of anger and stress. Then... this sound happens. It sounds similar to a balloon that someone is slowly letting the air out of, ended with a very solid-sounding retort. Instinctively I knew that I should let Bucko go and began to search my arms and legs.

"Bucko shit on me!" I squealed as I looked at the two small grey-green lumps of cat poo on my arm and leg. Marilynn did her best to have a serious look on her face while she handed me tissues, but I knew she wanted to bust out laughing.

She held Stubby and he gave her no problems. Guess who gets to hold Bucko from now on at medicine time?


As an aside � ALi chipsets for USB 2.0 suck. I bought one from that place I said I'd never go again, and wish now that I'd never gone again. It was fifteen dollars wasted on a crap card.

The USB 2.0 card was seen. Windows 2000 would install the drivers for it. No freakin' devices would work unless I plugged them into my USB 1.1-compliant hub, which defeated the purpose of installing a USB 2.0 card and using my new USB 2.0 hub.

Suckage!

A quick read over at the USBMan forums told me that I should just blow off the ALi chipsets and get a board based on the NEC USB 2.0 chipset. I did, took the old one out and put this one in, and plug and pray did its thing, and now I'm blasting data around at high speed.

So, all in all, know what chipset your card has. I really have to wholeheartedly recommend the NEC chipset after my experience, and won't ever buy anything based on ALi again.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>