15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Now that's Texas!
12:30:00 on 2004-10-05

One place that's close to work that I frequent for lunch is Whataburger. It's right across the freeway from us, so I can run across, pick something up and come back to work in a few minutes.

Today I just noticed something. On most fast food cups, the lids have bubbles on them that get pressed in to denote "Coke", "Diet" and "Other", although I have seen things like "Sprite" and "Pepsi" too. Well, today mine had two pressed in, and I hadn't pushed them in (I tend to push them all in after a time), so I looked at them.

The two pressed were "DP" and "Diet". I pondered this while I took a sip of my Diet Dr. Pepper. Dr. Pepper is considered common enough at Whataburger to be on the lid instead of more mainstream drinks.

Then it dawned on me — in my mind, something about Whataburger is Texas. Dr. Pepper rather than Coca Cola (what, no RC Cola?). Mustard on your burger instead of mayo, and certainly no ketchup! Jalepeños as an add-on for your burger. That's how we like it, and if nobody else likes it, to Hell with 'em.


Marilynn's introduction to Whataburger was in Kingman, Arizona at about two AM three years ago or so. We were returning from the Grand Canyon, and didn't warn her about the mustard. She didn't like it.

She always says she's a Texan now. Is that why she's not really a Texan?

Also, I don't know why, but it made me happy when I saw the two bubbles pressed in on my lid. Will I miss that when we leave Texas? Am I going to miss this place that I dislike so much at times?

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>