15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Pathetic, yet prophetic
18:20:00 on 2000-03-09

Remeron ® Wellbutrin ® Day 14 Remeron ® Wellbutrin ®

Feeling:

Current mood music:

"Miserable"
By Lit, from "A Place In the Sun"

You make me come
You make me complete
You make me completely miserable

Stuck to a chair
Watchin' this
Story about me
Everything goes by so fast
Making my head spin
Used up all my friends
But who needs them
When you mean everything

I love things that we should fear
I'm not afraid of being here
So much the same
It makes me helpless, alone

Nothing to share
Why should I
Care if you're near me
Give up all my plans
But who needs them
When you mean everything

I love the things that we should fear
I'm not afraid of being here
So much the same
It makes me helpless, alone

You make me come
You make me complete
You make me completely miserable

I love the things that we should fear
I'm not afraid of being here
So much the same
It makes me helpless alone

You make me come
You make me complete
You make me completely miserable

(Story of my life.)
Yesterday on the way home from work, hurtling around 610 at 75 mph or so in the Delta '88 o' Death I heard this song. It's the first time I ever remember hearing it, but then, I don't pay so much attention to things like that.

I had to know who did the song, the title, the words, everything. It just fits my situation so well, it tells the whole story of a lot of my life, it's eerie. I cast the word to my notify list.

One wrote back privately, and one wrote back to the list, telling me it was "Miserable" by Lit. Little did I know that the song would be prophetic for the evening.


Gurugrrl wanted to call me. Everything seemed okay, or at least normal, if not okay, if that makes any sense. I was trying to upload some stuff to my iDrive for Poet, but I told her it'd have to be later because Gurugrrl wanted to call me to talk for about a half hour.

So I let her call.

She started to talk about just stuff, like normal, but she kept exhaling into the phone. She was smoking. She always smokes when she's stressed out about something, so finally, I just asked, "are you smoking?"

And of course, she was. This is bad news.

"This is never going to work, is it?" she asked me, deadpan. It was almost practiced in its delivery.

"You know, I said that once and you really freaked out on me." I felt like I was going to freak out.

Whereupon she starts to give me a long harangue about how I'd been trying to say this for months (although I was hoping, in saying that, that she would make some changes or moves and not be so distant), that we're too different, that we want different things, foremost in her examples, her privacy issues, that I consider almost pathological.

I made a few motions to object here and there, but I didn't give it a wholehearted attempt. I just wondered why she even came back, after we'd said our goodbyes. If this is how it was going to end up, and out of the blue like this... then why did she bother? So she could be the one who got to decide how to end it? To twist the knife a couple more times?

Finally, I asked her what would be all-telling, for me, anyway. "You don't love me anymore, do you?"

She was really quiet for a while. A long, pregnant silence.

"I've just taken one too many hits..."

I interrupted her. "Okay, look, just take me off your ICQ list and everything, okay?"

She proceeds to tell me that I don't have to make life like this, that we can try being friends, and we don't have to repeat the past, shutting people out of our lives. She just doesn't get it. Absence means I don't have to obsess on how things were, or could have been, or what happened. I don't have to feel like maybe they can be that way again. I don't have to get to a point where I realize I've been just friends longer than anything else, and get that sad, empty feeling.

I get to keep the picture I have now, even with all its flaws. Because I love her, even with all the flaws, and problems, and arguments.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>