15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
My own private Idahell
16:25:00 on 2000-02-12

Celexa ® Day 9 (on Celexa), 37 (on antidepressants) Celexa ®

Feeling:

I'm freezing. It's cold in here. Of course, I don't drink coffee so I can't get something to warm me up. Lunch won't come too soon...

Reading, doing, whatever...:

I meant to bring She Needed Me by Walter Kirn today, but didn't. I wouldn't be getting much reading done, customer service is being slow or swamped or something, so calls are rolling over to me quite a bit.

What I'll actually be reading in lieu, I guess, is Webmonkey; they've had some php articles lately on sessions and authentication that I want to read and just haven't gotten around to, assuming that I don't get a lot of email to answer.

Plus, you never know, I might go back and start trying to fix all those broken music links today, since that just requires cropping them out, which isn't too brain-intensive, and will be much easier on this faster link.

My brain is leaking out the side of my head. Please bring a bucket so I can salvage as much as possible.

I'm sitting here at work getting the most mind-numbingly boring calls. The most interesting thing I've done all day? Helped a guy right-click on his server's openly-shared drive to map it to drive E: for his client machine.

I am not experiencing Job Satisfaction�.

I didn't really expect to jump back into the job market and get a job that I would really be satisfied with, but do we always view the past with rose-colored glasses? I ask because I keep thinking back to my tenure at the last place I held a regular job, before I went into "let's start a business!" Hell and then freelanced while I tried to unsuccessfully slay the dragon of depression.

I had an office. Not a cubicle, or a station, but an office with walls and space to hang up posters and close the door when I was having a bad day and maintain my privacy.

I was probably overpaid, but that's fine, I can live with that. I was respected, because everybody knew I knew what I was talking about, and I came through in the end.

I had an internet connection that was largely idle to do with as I pleased, and I did, and nobody cared, nobody watched.

Sure, I'm forgetting all the problems there; the owner was paranoid in the extreme, and didn't trust anybody. Staff morale was low, probably because the staff turnover was high. She wanted me to move into more areas, but those are the areas that people kept disappearing from the company because they weren't performing to the impossible level that she required with no authority to make the necessary changes. I wasn't going down that road, too.

Thus, here I am now. Sometimes I long for those days, simply because it was familiar even though I was desperately unhappy back then, too.


Last week I didn't look around for a new job, so I shouldn't be complaining. I went and signed that form at the agency, but I haven't heard "boo" out of them since. I need to call them Monday to let them know that, yes, in fact, I would like a different job, but I probably won't have time because I have to take Moogie to the airport for her trip out of town.

Thus, I won't. Anyway, who's to say I'll like the new job better? I might not. Anyway, I'd rather find something permanent so I know I can count on the income, get into a routine, and plan around it rather than a bunch of temp assignments here and yon constantly.

I need to look in the Sunday paper, but I know that I won't have enough time to do that (although I may be able to do it tomorrow, since I work tomorrow and I can do it online.

I guess this is just a lot of self-recriminations for not doing what I should be doing (sort of like that second dream that I had the other day). I feel I should be doing it for so many reasons, but I feel overwhelmed again. I am starting to feel like I can't make a good decision, I'm freezing up rather than choosing a course of action because there is so much to be choosing from. I should be doing a demo site, or trying to organize my life, or taking care of things as they come rather than piling them up and trying to do things in batches, because Another Day never quite comes.


Speaking of doing a demo site, my domain is parked with Dreamhost. I would really like to stay with Dreamhost, but they're just too expensive for CGI and mySQL access (yes, I know that you can get a mySQL database on any plan for an extra seven or eight bucks a month now, and all plans include php now), so I've been looking around.

Well, Kathy over at daysies.nu suggested to me some time ago that I check into superuser.net, and I never really bothered dealing with it, I just kind-of blew it off since I couldn't afford to host up, even for their low rates. Well, I finally decided to call since I have some money coming in, because their site says nothing about mySQL and doesn't mention php.

They do offer mySQL, though, and will be installing php soon (and although I couldn't pin him down on it, he says it will be with the module setup).

Maybe it's time to really start looking into doing a larger site? No excuses, all that rot. I'm shuddering at the thought. Then again, it gives me something to work towards, and Gurugrrl always says that she wants to work on something together, so we could make it a group project (and superuser lets you set things up so that you can have multiple logins to the same account). Anyway, her expertise with SQL databases is a lot more expansive than anything I could throw at it. (Filemaker Pro is my thing.)

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>