15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Nosy bastard
23:30:00 on 2000-02-09

Feeling:
Vaguely violated.
To: [email protected]
Copies to: [email protected]
Date sent: Wed, 9 Feb 2000
From: [email protected]
Subject: Javascript question


Somebody in management where I'm working a temp job has gotten their panties in a wad about software on the computer in "the pit" and websites we're visiting, what have you. However, generally, if the site you're going to is clean, they don't mind you surfing during slack times, and I'd think my journal qualifies as clean. All I was doing was adding a brief entry with a couple dream sequences that a reader that I talk to frequently asked me for.

Well, I check my visitor and referrer logs tonight and I see that the office manager where I work is reading my site, obviously from perusing the network traffic logs. What's worse? He's going into places like the secure section of Diaryland, under my account, with my password, on his private machine (a referral from his machine shows up in my logs coming from the entry editing pages in members.diaryland.com). What's up with that?

I never expected privacy on the network at work, of course, but I didn't expect people to be going into areas that are explicitly marked with usernames and passwords. (Is he reading my webmail accounts, too? Or my regular email, since I check it from work through the webmail interface my ISP provides... or my weblogs? Or anything, for that matter, that requires a username and password. That sort of thing.)

So apart from not visiting my site anymore from work and changing my passwords, I want to put a javascript on there so that it takes the class-C subnet that work is in and redirects elsewhere (I imagine he'll be pretty easy to put off) because I don't want him reading, anyway.

Unfortunately, I know hardly any Javascript. (Something told me to get that book the other night...)

Can somebody help me find a canned Javascript that will get the IP address of the visitor and if it's in xxx.yyy.zzz.* redirect them to another page?


Thanks,
Mike, really hoping something pans out so he can get out of there


----
[email protected]
15 Megs of Fame: http://restlessmind.diaryland.com/


What they got their panties in a wad about was that everybody keeps installing games and such. I guess the last straw was me trying to install a text editor on the computer that does color markup of HTML text so I could write a little during slack periods.

Well, I don't want the annoying popup window telling me to register while I'm trying to fix a problem for the next ten minutes every time I opened the editor, so I'm surfing a crack site from Astalavista to get a fake reg for it.

"Oh, man," came one of the head techs coming to look over our largely idle shoulders. "You don't need to be going out to crack sites."

"Yes, I do; I don't want this popup coming up every time I open the program."

"You know, it's called registering the program and paying for it."

Don't give me that shit. I registered my 6.x version. This is a 7.x version. I can't download 6.x anymore, or I'd install it and bring my reg code from home. Anyway, it's not like the head techs don't sit on their asses with their CD-RW drives at work making copies of Unreal Tournament and NT Server/Administration Pack to share around. Glass houses and stones and all that.

Five minutes later the same head tech comes around and tells us to uninstall everything that we or anybody else had put on the computers that doesn't have to do with taxes or support functions. Oooookaaaaay. Go extreme; fuck 'em. I even uninstalled Office 2000. (I was kind, though; I didn't remove the 2.6 gigs of .mp3 files somebody had stored on there.)

All I had on there was my text editor. You couldn't believe the crap that was on there from other folks (games; AllAdvantage; things to dynamically change wallpaper; download accelerators (accelerators? On a T1?)). I'm not into tight-assedness. Looked at the tech computers?

Fair enough; I'll muddle through with notepad. I'll miss my spellcheck and color markup, but I guess I'll survive.

But then I see that nosy bastards abound. The office manager is apparently reading my site because he found the URL in the transfer logs.


You know, when I was in the position to be watching everybody's traffic, I didn't bother. First, what most people do is private. I try to respect that. I would rip on Xander occasionally in the office because he had certain... predilections, let's call them... to a few adult sites. But I didn't worry about it, because nobody really inflicted it on anybody else, and I have better things to do that go around knowing everybody's business.

But, y'see, the difference is that I have some scruples.

Apparently they don't where I work, because they'll apparently even use your usernames and passwords to connect to things that are supposed to be protected. I was trying to protect myself by making sure I was clearing out my cookies on logins constantly, but if they're going to end-run by capturing them at or near the router then I don't have a lot of choice, unless I just don't go to those places, and I don't see the harm in checking my email and visiting a few sites here and there that are largely innocuous (my journal, Slashdot, a couple things pointed to from emails I get, etc).


So yes, I'm asking for Javascript.

If he really wants to read, I know it won't stop them from reading. But I won't let it stop me from writing.

There's a thread on diary-l right now about potential employers (specifically getting a web design/development job) and one's journal. I find it humorous that I am having to contend with this at the same time. But I figure if they're going to be this petty and sneaky then I'll just go with it and won't let the doorknob hit me in the ass when the time comes to leave (or I get ushered out the door).

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>