15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Quick update
15:00:00 on 2000-02-07

Celexa ® Day 4 (on Celexa), 32 (on antidepressants) Celexa ®

Feeling:

Fine. Celexa is an SSRI, but I don't feel any lower on it; maybe I've never come down from the Remeron. I'm not sure.

Celexa gives me a constant dull headache and dry mouth, and for some reason my skin's dried out overnight (but it does that occasionally). Since I have to go to work soon (and get gas, I'm really near empty) this has to be a quick entry.

Listening to:

"kickdog", a prank call somebody made. It's hilarious!
It's one of those dreary days outside that makes me think about my British heritage. The landscape is dull and gray, and a constant, slow rain is falling. If only it were cold, some deep part of me would feel right at home, just like I enjoy bland food, dry humor and stand on a pier in Galveston and look out at the water and don't have any wonder in my mind that a small island once had an empire that ranged the globe.

This is one of those days where you want to curl up and read a book, or at least I did when I could read a book. Short attention span, you see. But still, this is one of those days, and I keep meaning to catch up on my Douglas Coupland or start on The Truth Machine (I got it out of the cheap book bin at Randall's last time I went to the bank. It was sitting on top waving at me, almost), or even (horrors!) start trying to read something technical.

However, I have to go to work. Ugh.


I thought you were going to get a new job? you ask. Yeah, I am. I keep looking, but things seem to have settled back into a normal flow once I realized that, hey, if I do something and somebody really pisses me off or I really piss somebody else off then it's no great loss. It's a temp job. I just adopted the same bad "fuck it" attitude as the rest of the techs, be really patient with the clients on the phone and go from there.

My appointment at the temp place nearby went really well; I spent about two and a half hours there talking to people, filling out forms and taking various tests. I halfway expected to hear from them this morning, but decided to leave it be, and this morning my phone did ring.

I forgot to sign a line on my I-9 (immigration status) form. Why do I need to sign this? I was born here, my parents were born here, my grandparents were born here, all but one of my great-grandparents were born here, and from what I was told, they were a citizen of the Republic of Texas (back when it really was the Republic of Texas). Ugh.

So I'm not even in the system right now. Give me something else I have to do... hrmmm.

One thing that miffs me is that the IT recruiting guy told me that I am going to be facing one of the problems that a lot of people he saw have: they got out of strictly-technical work to do something quasi-technical or nontechnical, and now they're having a hard time breaking back in.

Sounds like an excuse to me. I think I need to get back to coding and get a foot in the door somewhere. I used to love to program, and did it compulsively (in class others would doodle... I'd scribble code in the margins). I am just looking for a worthy project. Any ideas?


The Big International Energy Conglomerate that I did some work for with Xander has been griping again. Their web design team at their wind energy facility is clueless. They can't take files, filter them according to date to build a single set of good files and upload them to the web.

Fair enough - since it was slow at work I did most of the sorting and building the final set there. Once I got home I did a few fixes, and uploaded it for them to download. They better hurry, though, I'm taking it down Wednesday (I'm off Thursday, and I want to work on a new design).

Xander and I have both had it with these people and said that we will do no more for them. I'm just sick of the project, and he's got a million other things on his mind with his grandmother here in Houston sick in the hospital and work and building a new house, so he doesn't want to deal with it anymore. I'm wondering if I should approach them directly if they need more done, though? Is it worth the hair-pulling? I doubt it. I can use the money, but it's really not worth the problems.


Some quickies:

  • Things are going better with Gurugrrl, but I won't jinx it by going into details. Knock on wood for me.

  • I got my first actual paycheck from an actual job in ages. It felt kind of good, even if it was small (it only covered two actual days, both very part-time). I guess this means I'm officially back "out there."

  • Another thing that IT guy said is that I might want to consider teaching. I looked at him like he was insane when he said that he heard that in Texas you could get certified and not have a degree if it was a subject with a low supply of teachers (like math).

    That's sick. I remember when I was going to high school they all had undergrad degrees and were working part-time on their Masters, or were throwing a party because somebody just finished their Masters degree in math or physics or what have you. Now you don't need a degree period? The degree doesn't mean you'll be a good teacher, sure, but I don't think it would hurt.

    Anyway, I don't think I could stand the kids, so no, I won't be pursuing this.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>