15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Doobie-doobie-doo
12:00:00 on 1999-12-26

I survived Christmas. I had to promise somebody I would, and I figured it'd be bad form to break the promise.

A part of it had to do with the fact that I was had a rapid, extreme allergic reaction from a candle my grandmother was burning, so I went home, took three allergy pills and put a rag on my eyes to relieve some of the swelling, and promptly fell asleep for two hours. By the time I went back, everybody'd opened presents and was wandering around in post-holiday stupor, leaving me largely unscathed.

That was the best present I could have hoped for.


Silly story about shopping: I was in K-Mart waiting to buy this ivy-rimmed clock for Moogie. Now, K-Mart is supposed to be a fairly image-conscious, family-oriented place, right?

While I was waiting in line I was looking around at all the impulse by items that line the checkout lanes. There was the normal mix of magazines and tabloids, horoscope booklets, gum and candy, batteries, pens, breath fresheners, razors, and so forth.

Now, maybe I've led a sheltered life, or maybe I've never really paid that much attention, but right there among all these items was something I'd never expect to see at the Super K-Mart: a whole selection of condoms. I think this is a marketing problem. I can understand condoms being an impulse-use item, but not really an impulse-buy item.

I mean, let's be serious, if you're standing in line at K-Mart with somebody, and the two of you feel an urgent need to be using a condom, by the time that you actually make it through the line I would think that the urge had passed (especially at the K-Mart where I live; glaciers move faster. Twenty-seven registers in this store, and I have never seen more than six open at once). Even if you're lucky enough to not have anyone in your lane, if you are still in the mood once you reach the parking lot they'll see you on security camera and call the cops, not to mention make copies of the tape for everybody in town.


Another strange observation: I saw more cars from Michigan while I was Christmas shopping than I ever really remember seeing before.

Why do I recall this? It struck me that even though a lot of cars are supposedly made in Michigan, they have the most plain butt-ugly license plates in the world.


Personal gift giving factoid: I received 21 penguin-related items for Christmas, not including things wrapped in penguin wrapping paper. [smirk]

Fortunately, I like penguins.


I say penguin funny. Apparently this is a genetic defect, because my father says it the same way.


Speaking of my father, I'm avoiding him like the plague. He asked me what I wanted for Christmas, and I told him nothing, but he won't listen to me, of course. Of course, I got him something, too, but I really don't want to have to see him to give it to him.

He called here three times yesterday asking when I would be there. He wasn't asking if I was coming, but when; apparently I was just expected. This is funny, coming from somebody I didn't go see on Father's Day or his birthday.

Interfacing with members of my family brings stress and recriminations and more trouble than it's worth. Becky, my former therapist at UH, used to tell me that the best thing I could do for myself was to move away from them, and maybe out of town or the state, completely. Oddly enough, some others (Crafty, and now Gurugrrl) are telling me the same thing. And what sucks worse is that I know they're all right, but it's not that simple.

But with regards to my father, since my grandfather died, there's been nothing to pull us together over the last few months. He keeps calling here and getting upset or frustrated when I don't want to talk. Nobody else in my family seems to grok exactly why I don't want to go see him, but I guess if I explained it to them, they'd understand that they stress me out, too. I can't really go there.


All in all, I'm glad that the Christmastime part of the holidays are over. New Year's won't be a big deal either, since I don't ever actually see anybody, so I don't generally go out on New Year's, and Gurugrrl said she couldn't come down. Now I just have to worry about if the power and communications will go down.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>