15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
If I do get a psycho stalker, I hope she's cute, at least
08:15:00 on 1999-12-19

Feeling:
Very chilly. I'm freezing my anterior regions off.

Current Winamp skin (I don't like their new site design):

DaVinciAmp. I had to get some new skins when I
realized every one I had for it has something to
do with "The X-Files", "Star Trek" or
a scantily-clad woman.

Listening to:

"Princes of the Universe" by Queen


Texas weather has multiple-personality disorder.

We have a day where it's almost springlike, then one where it's bitterly cold, then it's sunny and dry, then clouds wander in over the course of sixteen seconds and the bottom falls out. It's ridiculous.

What do I get to go to my appointment in Tuesday? The forecast is for the coldest day of the year (including the days from winter from last year), with a hard freeze overnight (if you never heard that before, that's Texan for "it stayed below freezing for more than an hour, so liquid water may actually turn solid") and never get above 40 or so the rest of the day.

I hope it hasn't been raining before that, because I have to drive way down to Angleton, and I don't feel like a-slippin' and a-slidin' with everybody else who lives here and doesn't understand how to drive on ice. (I understand the physics of it intellectually, but insofar as practice, I have not a clue. Another reason why I should never move north.)


Speaking of weird weather, last night while Gurugrrl and I were talking and ironing things out I was sitting outside in my car to get a little privacy while we talked. During that time, I kept seeing flashes behind me.

"I just saw a flash."

"A flash? What do you mean?"

"A flash, like somebody's taking pictures!"

The only thing they could be taking pictures of from that distance was the fog, or maybe the chickens (I don't think the chickens are that photogenic). So I got out to investigate and see what's going on.

Alas, no, it wasn't a weirdo stalker with their Polaroid, but rather it was the weather changing again. During the course of our four-hour conversation the weather went from clear, to foggy, to clear again, to raining, to foggy again. That's one thing about the weather here, I guess: if you don't like it, wait a few minutes, it'll change. (However, despite this, we never really have seasons, just brief cold snaps during summer.)


"The Christmas Song"
Tom Lehrer

Christmas time is here, by golly,
Disapproval would be folly,
Deck the halls with hunks of holly,
Fill the cup and don't say when.

Kill the turkeys, ducks and chickens,
Mix the punch, drag out the Dickens,
Even though the prospect sickens,
Brother, here we go again.

On Christmas Day you can't get sore,
Your fellow man you must adore!
There's time to rob him all the more
The other three hundred and sixty-four...

Relations, sparing no expense, 'll
Send some useless old utensil,
Or a matching pen and pencil -
("Just the thing I need, how nice!")

It doesn't matter how sincere it is,
Nor how heart-felt the spirit,
Sentiment will not endear it,
What's important is the price.

Hark, the Herald Tribune sings,
Advertising wondrous things.

God rest ye merry merchants,
May ye make the Yuletide pay.

Angels we have heard on high,
Tell us to go out and buy!

Let the raucous sleigh-bells jingle,
Hail our dear old friend Chris Cringle,
Driving his reindeer across the sky -
Don't stand underneath when they fly by.

Have I ever mentioned that I have come to hate Christmas? Okay, actually, I don't. Peace, love, good will towards men, all that crap. Bah, humbug.

But I am sick of the whole season. Holidays usually bring me down, and they worsen as I approach New Year's. By January first I'm usually wondering where the nearest tall building is so I can jump off it, and fortunately (?) there are a couple buildings in downtown Houston I know pretty well. (I used to practice some urban exploration in them late at night during my lunch breaks.)

"The Christmas season" starts sooner and sooner every year, burning people out way ahead of time, or at least me, I guess. This year I first saw Christmas stuff October first. If I ever see Christmas stuff being sold on my birthday (mid-August) I'm going to go postal. I swear.

I have a bunch of people in my family that are impossible to buy for. They already have everything, won't try something new, and when they need something around gift giving time they don't wait for someone to buy it for them, they just go get one.

My family tends to like to pick each others' psychological scabs during occasions that are supposed to be happy, the point being that if you object then you are the one that ruined . Thus, everybody just tends to sit, grin and top whatever injustice has just been done to them. It makes for a really healthy relationship with everyone, especially since there is a long tradition of grudge-holding in my family.

I am not big on shopping (unless it's for something composed of bits, uses electricity and processes information in some form, or is made of the processed carcasses of a tree), and being broke this year I didn't have the financial truck to do the cost-is-no-biggie, buy-it-all-online, don't-go-to-an-actual-store thing. Thus, I've spent more time than I care to in throngs of people looking for the perfect doodad that the person you're getting it for could live without, anyway.

It's my sincerest hope that someday, when (okay, at this point, if) I have a family, I don't carry any of this baggage to them.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>