15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Low weirdness
07:00:00 on 1999-12-13

Just a short one about some weirdness that has happened in an incredibly compressed timeframe. But short because I'm pumped.

You see, I've been hacking cookies.

I've got the makings of a good, web-based site login procedure going. What's more, it was fun. I have to code more. It's like a disease; it's not as hard as I make it out to be. I can actually do this. Experience fear in my wake.


Best thing about the weekend? I found out that Gurugrrl actually likes me for me, no matter what I may be.

Worst thing about the weekend? The way I had to find it out.


While sitting with IRC in the background, with my favorite editor open, scribbling lines of php into it frantically and fixing various broken things:

restlessmind [[email protected]] has joined #restlessmind
ChanServ sets mode: +rtn
ChanServ changes topic to "My brain hurts. (restlessmind)"
ChanServ: #restlessmind is operated by ChanServ
restlessmind changes topic to "I'm a smart cookie (with cookies)"
You are now known as restlesslurker
Eleanor [[email protected]] has joined #restlessmind
<Eleanor> will u talk to me?
<Eleanor> mike
<restlesslurker> About what?
<Eleanor> what did i do?
You are now known as restlessmind
<restlessmind> What do you mean?
<Eleanor> i come back from michigan and all of a sudden ur not talking to me
<restlessmind> That's funny, I thought you said if I was this way then fuck me
<Eleanor> alot of stuff happened
<Eleanor> last night
<Eleanor> im sorry
<restlessmind> Oh, well, seeya
<Eleanor> i saw what u wrote about me
You are now known as restlesslurker
<Eleanor> and i was mad
<Eleanor> well, whatever i guess, ur still my friend, wether or not u think i am, i just dont understand what i did
<Eleanor> maybe one day i will understand
Eleanor [[email protected]] has left #restlessmind

Whatever.

I guess I'm being a Heartless Bastard�, and whatever transpires, I'm the heavy. But you know, I just can't say that I can go there right now.


So I put on a jacket and head out into the pre-dawn air to drag the garbage can to the road. As I am headed up the driveway, I start to approach my grandparents' house, and I get closer to their house, I realize there is something orange in the driveway. What's more remarkable is that I can see it, since that's the only detail on the whole driveway I can make out.

When I get up to the point of origin, I realize that it's a piece of wood half burned down, that still has very hot coals in it.

Yes, laying in the driveway.

I look around for signs of debris from lightning, because surely my grandparents aren't goofy enough to take a burning log out of the fireplace and dump it in a gravel driveway with lots of dry leaves and grass and wind to fuel these coals.

Apparently they are.

I just left it there.

I know there's a joke that people shrink as they get older. Do their brains shrivel up, too?

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>