15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Something is wrong with me
23:10:00 on 1999-10-25

Entertaining Slashdot topic of the day: Uncle Robin's Advice for Lovelorn Geeks

This response pretty much summed it up:


Utterly utterly offensive (Score:5, Funny)
by Tony Shepps ([email protected]) on Sunday October 24, @12:28PM EDT (#34)
(User Info) http://www.zerodefect.net/anton

Let's sum up:

  • Geek girls are incapable of being loving and considerate, and unloving and inconsiderate geek guys have to avoid that.
  • The ideal woman is one who selflessly meets your every needs.
  • The proper role for the woman is that of handservant, who considers running your bathwater to be part of a "mutually beneficial" relationship.
  • One way to evaluate a woman is to take off her clothes and makeup.
  • In bars, the females that are unattainable are called "women" while the ones that you are supposed to go after are called "girls".
  • If a woman finds you unattractive, dump her as quickly as possible.
  • Grown breasts are worth waiting for.
  • Be nice to geeky looking girls, just in case they grow up and look good.
  • In spite of all of the above, imperfections are to be overlooked.
  • All women are looking for a man to fill the empty void in their lives.
  • If you're not having any success, find someone like Roblimo, considers himself an expert at picking up chix and is ready to dispense a handful of advice because he has a pleasant and apparently subservient wife who meets his needs.


Before I get hate mail, please note that the suggestions in this article do not reflect that of the management of restlessmind.diaryland.com.


I'm not feeling terribly wordy, but I will post a short one, because something is wrong with my body. What, I don't know, but it's something that I need to fix.

I know I've been sleeping a lot, and having variable moods lately, but something is wrong outside the ordinary.

First, that list of things I had to do? Not a whole lot came of it. I didn't manage to come back to consciousness until about 1:00 PM today. When I got up I was feeling dizzy, but I got up anyway, because I knew I had a lot to do.

So I went about taking care of laundry, feeding the chickens (and feeling like I was going to pass out while I was taking care of their water), and then getting ready to go so I could mail a check to pobox.com, get the things I needed at Wal*Mart and get something to eat.

Of course, I got weak at Wal*Mart and felt sick after I ate my quarter pounder meal.

I got home, called Crafty, and we talked briefly. She's not feeling very well, didn't seem very talkative and didn't actually seem like she wanted to be talking to me, so I just went ahead and got off the line when Moogie got home. I didn't want to feel like I was intruding, and she has enough on her mind to make me not want to dish out what I feel like I've got on mine.

What's funny is that I was telling her how I didn't remember the last time that I'd had a good illness.

After Moogie got home, I went to get some French bread for dinner, and then went to walk in the park. I got about a third of the way around, and my legs started to hurt. Pretty badly. I kept going, though.

Once I got to about the half mile mark, in each leg, there was some muscle that was rebelling big time. It's the one that goes from about three inches below my knee, all the way down to my ankle, located in the forward outside quadrant of my leg. It felt like it wasn't getting any oxygen. It stiffened up until it felt like steel. It didn't feel or look like I could bend my ankles, and I had hardly any power in my legs.

I've never had this problem while trying to get on a walking regimen before...

I can't figure out quite what's going on.

I've not been very good about taking my pills. Maybe my body got used to a large variety of nutrients in my body, and it hasn't had them, so it's not functioning as it adapted to do.

I've been eating the Big Chain menu lately (Taco Bell, McDonalds, Jack In the Box), so while I've been eating to survive, I haven't been eating for health.

Maybe the muscle spasms are from getting warm and then the cool air hitting the muscles? I don't know.

I've been stressed out lately. Why, I'm not sure. But worrying about various things I have and haven't talked about here may be taking their toll.

Maybe it's all of the above.


I am so sick of feeling like I complain all the time. When I first conceived of it, it was going to be almost a notebook -- I'd have scrapbook sorts of items, information, thoughts, ideas. Instead, it's a laundry list of all my worries and complaints. Ugh.

I asked Eleanor last night if she thought my journal was too whiny. She said no, and then Ms. Paranoia took her over asking if I thought hers was. I said no, because it's not, even if it is a little morbid.

Maybe I'm just wishing I had more control over circumstances.


I got rid of the counter. I thought it was a little tacky counting hits. The thing I want to know is who visits, not how many visit.

My big wish for diaryland.com now is tracking of hits. I'd like to know who visits my journal. That, and letting me embed curly-braces so I can employ some javascript.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>