15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Holding out for something better
14:20:00 on 1999-10-14

I wonder if the Open Pages webring takes journals from sites like this?


Note for the gentle reader -- I've been in a sharing mood lately, so a lot's been added recently. What you see on top isn't really all there is. Go check the archives.


Isn't this always the case? You want something, but you end up holding out because you know "something better" is just around the corner. So you end up doing nothing.

For instance, I'm down to 3.7 gigs free on Gillian. This is bad, considering I have a lot of mp3s I want to encode at some point. So what do I want? I want to get a Really Big Drive to put in Gillian to make her happy and feel free again. (Also, defrag times are ugly with all these really big files.)

So I am oohing and aahing over these 27.3 gig drives from Western Digital (no comments about failures and recalls on WD drives, thankyouverymuch, I know all about them). But the damned things are expensive. And I know if I pay a premium on price now, they'll have 35 gig drives next month for less than I paid for this one. 20.4 gig drives don't look to expensive... but also, I have to remember my cashflow situation bites. Also, I really need a dedicated Linux box (I can't tell you the last time I coded in C, or ran a Perl script on Perl as it's meant to be, under Unix). I guess I could throw it down with a cheap hub and a couple 10/100 Mb ethernet cards and run samba on the Linux box for more storage...

So I wait. (Actually, I'm considering picking up a SCSI drive instead. I ought to use that UW SCSI card for something besides occasional scanning, no?)

So, with this sort of "you should have waited" thread in my mind already, imagine my surprise when I'm rooting around in some of my email and find out there's a new diary site.

This probably sounds awful, but I wish I'd held out for www.deardiary.net now. I like their layout better.

They let you put in a calendar (although what about people like me who may write more than once in a given day?). And a link list. And have forward and back buttons. I like.

But I've already committed to writing here, so, so be it.

Ideally, I would just go ahead and get restlessmind.com hosted and do my thing there. Well, I take that back. Ideally I would have a 10 megabit connection into the house here, a Windows box, and four Linux boxen (a primary DNS/mail server, a dual-processor heavy development box, a web/database server, and a secondary DNS/file/printer server for the rest of the machines), a couple 24" monitors on my desk (would they fit?) for an X-term and a Windows box, respectively, all that rot.

I might have to live with coding my site on a virtual server, and then maybe a few months after that, colocating a Linux box somewhere. Heavy sigh.

I wish I hadn't weirded out MDM with my Extreme Suckage Field�, however I managed that. If I hadn't, I'd probably have a machine neatly tucked under a desk where he worked right now, spewing bits to the 'net 24x7 for your browsing pleasure, along with lots of neat web toys built into it. (At the time, he'd set up a spare Sun IPC workstation that was gathering dust where he worked for us to futz around with.) I don't have the moxie to ask Bert to put one for me next to his where he works serving up 20+ domains, either. (Not like I can scrape together $500 to put together a barebones Linux box right now, else there'd be one sitting next to Gillian.)

I guess I hate asking for things. Asking for things shows weakness. It shows you need somebody else you're not self-sufficient, and I hate not being self-sufficient. I hate being a burden to other people.

So, instead, I'll sit here and gripe.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>