15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
What a strange title.
22:00:00 on 1999-10-07

"15 Megs of Fame"? What is that supposed to mean?

Well, you know how Andy Worhol said that everybody would get fifteen minutes of fame? Well, given the number of journals on the 'net now, both on the web and in email lists, I figured that maybe now everybody gets fifteen megabytes of fame. And if I want mine, I guess I better go after it.

However, I had to shorten it, because, well... "fifteen megabytes" didn't fit in the header image I was making in Photoshop. [smirk]

Work with me, here.


I actually went through several titles in the course of one day, when I decided to do this, but was making a few graphics for my template.

My old idea for my online journal title was "Quiet Desperation", as in the Thoreau quote, "the mass of men lead lives of quiet desperation". The trick with that is unless I want to couch it in graphics of Walden Pond and old yellowed paper... well, you can see it doesn't really bring forth a visual.

So instead, I pulled one out of thin air: "Infantile Mortality". This one seemed vaguely appropriate, since I imagine most of what I write may sound somewhat infantile :), and I don't believe strictly in mortality ("death and taxes are unresolved engineering problems").

But it dawned on me that to some people may not share my particular brand of humor and that title could be offensive.

Actually, Gurugrrl asked me, "why is it called Infantile Mortality?" There was this implied you're not really going to call it that, are you? in her question, so that pushed me over the edge to change it.

So I changed it to another title I had in mind before, "Larval Stage". She wouldn't look at the final title graphic, though, because it was squirmy. (Yes, I put a little green neon glowing maggot on the title. Too bad I didn't put the propeller beanie on him like I thought about.)

So... here we are with the current title and its little green hard disk in the logo. I have thought about changing it yet again, but a rose by any other name would smell as sweet. What this will smell like is anybody's guess.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>