15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Okay, so now what?
18:45 on 2006-06-13

So, I didn't get the job, and I'm still doing what I do now. A friend close to the action up there found out that they already knew they wanted to hire someone else for the position and were just playing the HR game, and the other position requires prior experience with .NET and ASPX, which leaves me out. That means? I'm still in the same group.

Okay, so now what?

Somehow it's refreshing to know that you are locked into the job you are in. There's no nagging possibilities to distract you.

Reality is? I am lead in my team, maybe I can affect change. The biggest pain has moved into another position, and perhaps I can get things accomplished now. Apart from that? I can look for another job when the time comes.

I am unsure where I am headed from here career-wise, but there's no real rush when I'm still in a fairly good position. I fully expect to get a crappy review this year because of the whole brouhaha in the last couple months, but if I don't mind staying about where I am now for roughly the same compensation then I can wait for a better position and smile about it.


In the mean time, there are a few things I can do in lieu of stressing about the job. First, I can get things in order at the house. For example, this weekend I got help from my dad and one of his wife's son's to make hurricane window covers for hurricane season. I'd like to get my mother's affairs in order, too. I need to finish getting my computers and our library set up. These things promote the goal of just living in our house like people, not never-unpacked apartment dwellers.

I can lose some weight. I have gained quite a lot of weight since even the last time we dieted (albeit half-heartedly). When I get down, I eat. When I eat, I gain weight. It's pretty simple. Now sure, I could do something about my mood so I don't eat as much to fill whatever that hole down there is (apart from my belly button), but I am going to try to lose some weight and try to get back into doing things I enjoy, hoping that will improve the mood.

I can finish my resumé. I mean, if (and that's an if) there's no future here beyond what I am doing right now, then I need to update it so that it's current and presentable. Right now it's a shambles, even after updating it a bit.

I can work on some demonstration work and start blogging (rather than just doing the Diaryland thing). I mean, many people demonstrate what they know by writing applications and put them up for download, build websites, and blogging about the things they're passionate about. Plus, being in the community and becoming known makes you a good target for hiring when you are thinking about and working on the things that a company is looking to staff for.

Reasonable goals. I think I shall get off my butt and go work on one of those items, namely, getting the library in order.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>