15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Mozilla: my trusty sword, splintered asunder
07:45 on 2005-03-14

Last night while trying to go to sleep, I was watching an episode of the BBC program "Weapons That Made Britain" on the History International channel that covered the sword. As with the other episode I have seen that went into the British history of the shield, it was thought-provoking and gave me a much better understanding of the weapons that I never had during my days of roleplaying gaming.

Of course, as I am wont to do, my thoughts wander during the discussion in the program. The author discusses how much of the training to use the sword has been lost through the centuries save for a few manuals that are short on description to technique, save some illustrations. I think about how if someone from that age were still alive today, they could tell us about it firsthand.

From there, it's not unreasonable (well, okay. At least, insofar as it's not unreasonable to think that someone can still be alive from before the turn of the first millennia) for me to think during the discussion of pattern-welded sword blades that such a person, alive for all that time, had an old sword, built during the age that pattern welding was supreme, and when the science of forging moved to making swords out of single pieces of steel they had to let that trusty sword go for one that was, for a time, unfamiliar and undesirable, and how that would feel.

That was when I realized that that's how I feel about the recent announcement that the Mozilla browser suite was being done away with in favor of Firefox and Thunderbird. That my trusty sword has been taken away, but instead of being given a better one, I'm being handed a butter knife.

Mozilla, to me, has always proven to be faster, more flexible and generally more convenient. I tried Firefox, but just didn't find it as exciting to me. The chrome is plain huge, it has the feel of Internet Exploder, and it's not as flexible for things I need to do. With the Multizilla extension, I have a large number of control functions all in one place and have tab browsing functionality that is useful to me.

I feel like I'm being robbed. I guess if the Mozilla suite truly does die, then in time I will switch to Firefox after a long period of trepidation, and go through a period of adjustment in my browsing style, as handling tabs and changing settings has become more or less automagic with my current browser setup at home and work. Nonetheless, I feel like I am mourning an old friend.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>