15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
I have failed, but I haven't given up
23:00:00 on 2005-01-31

I have failed, but I haven't given up. Not by a longshot.

My resolution for the new year was to write four times a week. By my figures, four entries every seven days multiplied by thirty-one days in January comes out to eighteen entries when you round off. Including this entry, I have written a grand total of sixteen during the last month.

In time I will make up the gap; every day I think of things to say, I just never get around to writing them down. Sometimes the words come and spill into the editor, but more often than not they disappear into the background noise of my mind, never to emerge again.

In truth, though, I often don't have that many things to say that I consider worth saying. This site is often a collection of "today I did this"es and "you know what I think"s, when I'd much rather be writing something literary and lasting. Of course, the reality is that we often don't have things to say that will withstand the test of time on a regular basis. Further, most of the things I write here are a first draft, at best; this means that you get whatever dribbles out of my mind at any given time.

Still, the excuses don't make it worth reading.


Part of me is thinking that I should start this site over.

There is a lot of drivel here, and when I go back and look at some of it, it reads like the mutterings of a fourteen year-old schoolgirl. Granted, I was going through a hard time then, so I give myself a little slack, but that doesn't mean that it needs to exist for posterity.

Now, that doesn't change how I feel about writing to keep a record of your life. Keeping a record of your life doesn't mean that every phrase you write needs to be available online. Perhaps it can be available to myself alone, or to a small subset of people I trust, but generally available? No. (It's bad enough that the Wayback Machine at the Internet Archive keeps this stuff around forever.)

I'm still looking into it. If you visit regularly, then you'll be among the first to know.


As a note on style, visitors to this site have no doubt noticed that I usually open links in new windows. The rationale was that I didn't want people leaving my site to visit a link and then not return. Being a small site, I was worried about losing visitors.

However, as I have become older I have also become wiser. I know that people who visit the site and find it of use will stay, and people who don't, won't. Also, I have learned that overriding the user's desires and behavior is at best telling the user that you know better than they do and at worst a grave insult to their abilities and intelligence.

Therefore, I will begin shunning the use of the target="_blank" attribute in my anchor tags. In the future, I may offer up a side link that opens the link in a new page, but it will be at the reader's discretion.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>