15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Quick odds and ends
18:30:00 on 2004-06-17

We had been doing the Atkins diet for a while, but gave it up. Now we're doing a modified one, taking some of the lessons of the South Beach diet, too.

You know what's weird about it? When we're on the diet, I sometimes have blood in my stool.

I never thought that having to push when you're going to the bathroom would be such a pain. Literally. (You eat almost nothing but animal products for a while, and you'll know the value of a quality bowel movement once in a while!)

What's weirder is that most of the day yesterday, I was having a real bleeder. I don't know if it was a tear, or I burst a hemmorhoid or, as a coworker mentioned, it was a polyp that got ripped off. I mean, every half hour I had to go to the bathroom to poo out a small collection of blood clots and fresh, bright blood.

After the bleeding stopped and normal-ish movements continued, I felt listless, had chills and generally ill. It's gone today. Poo in the bloodstream? Shudder the thought. That's a good way to get E-Coli poisoning, isn't it?

Maybe all that was TMI.


Today I stopped at the store to pick up some things for dinner, since we had nothing thawed, and on our diet right now the order of the day is meat, meat and more meat. Selecting a container of sour cream, I noticed nearby that two men were having a sort of altercation.

Two men were both on their cell phones, but one of them, with his child in a "theme buggy" (you know, shaped like a train or race car or something) was saying to the other, "you better just go on. You better watch what you're looking at,", while the other guy just sood there silently, staring like the guy mouthing off was insane. In fact, everybody standing nearby started staring at that guy like he was insane.

The mouther was obviously putting on a show for whoever was on the phone, and for his son, who may have been all of three years old. What is wrong with people? Is this the lesson he wants to teach his son? I'm not sure what affront the other guy did, but was it worth the impact on an impressionable child? Did he have to play the big man? Is his penis that tiny?

It reminds me of the "my dick is bigger than yours" games that people play at work. These are the same games that have me tired of going in, that make feel that trying to be friendly or social is pointless. I wish I could find another job, but the unemployment in Texas is above the national average right now, and Houston's slightly higher than that. Not a good idea for the time being.


Speaking of my job and affecting my mood - at least four people asked me today if everything was okay, which included two of the people who make me the craziest at work, the CIO of the company and somebody I'd never met before.

Maybe depression is taking root again? I dunno. It explains why I get so little work done on the new site.


Oh, in case you wondered, Lawry's regular taco seasoning packets have the same sodium and fewer carbs than everybody else's brands of low-sodium taco seasoning, it seems. Just thought you might like to know.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>