15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Record *everything*
21:00:00 on 2002-10-10

I have this habit of being a packrat. It drives various people in my life crazy, most notably Marilynn. I just can't throw things away that I may need someday. (For instance: none of the CD-ROM drives I have are Windows 2000 certified for installation, except for my ancient Memorex CRW1622 2x2x6 CD-RW. If it weren't for keeping it around, despite having a much faster model, I'd be screwed, 'cause none of them will work!.)

I've been having this urge to record everything. Keep it around.


Maybe part of it comes from keeping a site like this, or the fact that I've journal led off and on throughout my life. Maybe it comes from thinking I may actually do something of note, so I want to keep permanent records of all of this. Perhaps it's just narcissism. Regardless, I've been feeling the urge to keep things.

Part of it feels like I'm falling behind. For over five years now, I've been wanting to keep the kind of website that would knock socks off and be complex and deep and integrated into my life. Now those websites are appearing, with most of the features I've wanted.

Part of it is just seeing things people do, and I know I should be doing, too. For instance, a long-time online journal-keeper has been keeping a collection of her pictures she made with her mini Pencam. I keep one of these in a hard shelled case in my backpack, and even occasionally snap pictures with it. Do I post them? Do I take it everywhere? No. But you think I would with this urge to record.

Lately, in a very odd twist, I've been recording every movie I see and every fortune cookie I get in a database. This is down to the level of where we saw the movies, on what screen, reviews, etc; on the cookies, I'm recording the pick six and pick three numbers. All searchable, all ready to be processed, all ready for... something. What, I have no idea.

Where does this neurotic need to record come from? I think I just want to build. I want to express. I have a voice in me that is screaming to get out, that goes unheard. Maybe it's not worth hearing, but it's going to sing out anyway.

Mental note to self: start carrying one of the digital cameras with me everywhere. Get a voice recorder? Video camera? Webcam? Work on one of your freakin' sites, fergadsakes?


(Yes, I see the irony of recording my admission of my need to record.

Also, I wonder how Marilynn would sit with recording everything. I imagine that could be disconcerting after a time.)

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>