15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Creeping crud has a sense of time
23:30:00 on 2002-07-14

The week of the fourth of July, Marilynn had this... crud. The creeping crud. It induced nausea, diarrhea, headaches, weakness, chills and other flu-like symptoms. What was oddest was that you could feel fine and a half hour later you felt like you were going to topple over from it.

The half hour that took hold of her was at Saltgrass Steakhouse on July 3. Paraphrasing how she puts it, she started out the meal munching on her salad and by the end she was somewhat out of it. For the next couple days she was bedridden, and the next two after that, she was somewhat ill.

Almost exactly a week later, I got the same thing.

Wednesday night/Thursday morning at 12:30 AM I went to bed. At 4:00 AM I woke up shivering like I thought I was going to freeze to death and incredibly weak and tossing and turning. I finally warmed up a bit and went back to sleep, but when I got up I thought I was going to die, literally, but being that I had to go home on July 3 because of allergies about to kill me, I figured it was a Bad Thing#&153; to not go in. I ended up coming home by 10:30 AM and collapsing in bed.

Two days sick and two days iffy and here I am, ready for work tomorrow. Weird, huh?


Needless to say, I didn't get anything done on my site, seeing as how whenever I would shift positions more than three times I had to run to the bathroom.

I've started to do some first scratchings on and can't stop thinking about. I moved one of my domains to my webhosting and set it up. A blank slate to start coding on, as it were.

I want to get a cheap computer in here all networked up to Gillian, running Linux and Apache and all the fun toys, but that's not likely to be in the cards (well, the budget). We have some cheap Compaq Deskpro ENs for sale at work that are out of standard now, so they're being replaced in a refresh, but I'm not sure that they are even in the budget. (It's been intimated that if I want them, I could get some Deskpro 2000s or 4000s, perhaps for nothing, but what sort of memory do they even take? Can I even get network and video drivers for these things? Isn't there an issue about not being able to see all the memory on this hardware?)

Marilynn offered her computer as a server as long as she can check her email and browse and such, which was quite nice of her. Since she has MSN I guess she doesn't realize that anything besides Windows is out.

I have so many ideas buzzing around my head that are biting at my mind. I can't get them all sorted because there are so many of them. I think I am going to take the advice of a friend from work and carry around a notebook. I can make my notes in the book, put down all the features and some code order and notes and what have you in there. Once they're done I can use that as my implementation guidebook. I may even scan them and put them online. Who knows?


One issue with me not getting to work on the site is that I haven't finished building out the study up here yet.

I guess I'm a lame bastard, but when I feel creative, I want to create. When I feel industrious, I want to organize and sort. Sometimes the feelings last for days or weeks; sometimes they leave for days or weeks. Sometimes they're only minutes, or an afternoon. (Fortunately, I have a job right now that allows me to pick between my tasks according to what I feel like working on, or what I feel like I can tackle the best at the given time, unless outside factors make one higher priority. We call it juggling glass and rubber balls - you can drop rubber ones, but if any of them turn out to be glass, you better take care of them first, because if you drop it then it'll be your ass.)

Lately, I've felt creative. I haven't wanted to touch any of the stuff around here for a month and a half or more. Of course, in peaceful coexistence terms that means I'm lazy or maladjusted or a slob or something. I am a slob, but I just have my interests in other areas.

I guess I'm going to have to try to buckle down and simply go through all this stuff. It's not something I'm looking forward to, but it's necessary to keep the peace. Also, once it's done I imagine I can enforce enough geek time to keep me relatively happy.


Cool article idea to write - the magick of M&Ms.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>