15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
A conjecture on the natural practice of magic and children
12:45:00 on 2002-06-03

In my brief studies of magic, I am told that I am supposed to visualize energy, directing it with intention towards my goal. I find how it is sometimes difficult to focus on that intention, building the necessary images in my mind's eye, or even harder, to superimpose the images over my sight, building some form of mysticized augmented reality.

I think back to my childhood, however. All my world was to be explored and understood, and visualizing things from vectors to ideas to modification of entire city streets on my visual cortex was simply mine for the asking. There was no difficulty therein, I simply did it.

I have often said that the power of being a child was that you don't know what you can do.


Couple this with an observation in general about children, and another idea about my childhood. The observation is the oft-spoken yarn, "God protects all the little children," or simply that children seem to come out of serious scrapes unscathed for the most part.

Now, in reflection of my childhood I often say that I led a charmed life. I seemed to accomplish so much that otherwise couldn't be accomplished, do things I couldn't normally do, and I even had a strict belief that if I could envision a possibility that was bad, I could stop it. I had intention to stop it, and visualized that possibility as unable to happen, and sometimes even happening and being diverted.

As I got older, I stopped thinking that way - I started to believe that I could think of possibilities, but they were things that could happen. Issues with money and adult life moved to the foreground, and I explored some darker issues and aspects of humanity that made me depressed and broke my spirit, to an extent. Even my training in school led me to disbelieve the possibilities that such things were possible.

I reoriented my visualization to being able to visualize math and physics problems, rather than as a more general-purpose tool. I grounded myself, I worried more about day-to-day issues rather than something higher. I gave away part of myself.

I gave up the gift I am trying to recapture.


Could it be that I have the gift, I have just forgotten how to exercise it so fluidly?

Could it be possible that all children have the ability, but we all forget?

Isn't this a phenomenon that we have all heard expressed before, and I am recognizing it in myself?

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>