15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Ignore the fear
18:40:00 on 2000-05-02

My mind is on a football field, and we're going into fourth and goal in the end zone... except that one of my own team throttled me on accident and a ref threw down a flag so the team doctor can run out onto the field to see if I'm okay.

The doc is screaming at me, but I'm just not hearing him. "Look into my eyes! You have a game to finish!" He's waving smelling salts under my nose and teammates are adding to the pungent odor by fanning me with their soiled, sweaty towels they carry at their waists to wipe sweat between plays

I know he's there, but responding is very hard for some reason.


But yes, I got throttled by somebody who's supposed to be on my side.

There was this contract position (perhaps contract-to-hire, I was told) that got moved on pretty quickly this afternoon - they want somebody with some Photoshop and layout experience, and want them to start ASAP. At first we thought I'd be interviewing today, but now I'll be interviewing first thing tomorrow morning.

Anyway, the woman I had been talking to had left for the day, and I ended up talking to another one of their recruiters. He was giving me some particulars (I don't feel so hot that they don't have more detail), and then he said, "well, they will probably want you to start tomorrow," which would be very cool. Then he said they may be interviewing one or two other people, so they may call me back in that day.

Then he decided to add something: "I have to tell you," he said with a little chuckle in his voice. "Your resum� isn't the greatest. You jump over a lot of stuff."

I think I heard a bone break... a referee throws the flag in the end zone. Call a time-out, and quit shining that damned penlight in my eyes!


Okay, I admit I have some spotty experience here and there. In fact, I have an extremely varied background (it's one of the things that tells me I'm an entrepreneur at heart; it's a hallmark of many entrepreneurs), because I've done lots of things. It makes it hard to pigeonhole me.

I think people like others that can be pigeonholed.

I was feeling so up, so "on top of the world," and he has to make it like this. Sigh. I guess it's not his fault; he doesn't know I obsess on things like this. This eats at me.

If I had gotten to interview at 6:00 PM tonight, I wouldn't have had time to feel scared. Now I'm quaking in my boots. What's funny is just last night I was talking to Gurugrrl about ignoring the fear. Just... see past it.

Does this make me a hypocrite?

I guess it's just up to me to find a way to make the negatives into positives. Not my strongest trait, I hate to admit.

I am doing my best to try to compile a portfolio ASAP. He said the more I can show, the better - I take this to mean that I'm fighting an uphill battle. I'm trying to gather together some resources to see what direction I want to take from there, either web-base it, or burn a CD. I'll probably web-base it, just 'cause.

What's more? I feel like what I have is so rinky-dink. Then again, I may feel this way because I'm easy to knock down. Sigh.

I'm thinking about just calling this guy back on his cell phone tonight and asking him what the weaknesses are in my resum�. I can plan better around it if I get some specifics, right? Well, I hope, anyway.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>