15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
I want my geek TV
18:00:00 on 2000-04-30

I like watching daytime UHF TV on Sundays.

Well, okay, it's usually not that great. But there are good movies of my youth are on: "Ferris Bueller's Day Off", "48 Hours", "Another 48 Hours", "Crocodile Dundee". Throw in a couple Star Trek flicks, "Raiders of the Lost Ark" and "The Breakfast Club" and you've got it all right there in a nutshell.

They're reminders of times that weren't really non-stressful, but they were simpler. Things made much more sense then. Maybe they were black and white.

Destruction didn't lurk around every corner, at least.


Is it a condition of getting older to think about something and it seems like it was yesterday, and then you think about how long ago it really was? Was that really fifteen years ago? you find yourself thinking too much.

Sigh.


Time isn't linear to me much of the time. Something I did a year ago seems like ancient history. Remembering the computer programming contest we put on in my senior year of high school seems like yesterday. (Was that really twelve years ago?)

Maybe that has something to do with why I can't seem to manage my personal time any more. I need to make some calls? When should I? I need to do x before I do that, so I do this. Once I do that it leads naturally into something else. Then I find out that it's much later than I think it is, so I work on something else.

Running in circles. Name of the game.


Where can I see some of the classics of bad, syndicated, campy eighties TV? Like, anybody else remember that series, "Dracula"? How about "Friday the 13th: The Series"? "Tales from the Darkside"?

Somebody needs to encode all these shows as .mpeg or .avi (please, not QuickTime, QuickTime is the spawn of Satan) and sell 'em on the 'net for $!.50 an episode. I'm telling you, you'd clean up - a season of camp TV for $40?

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>