15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Of happiness
23:00:00 on 2000-03-14

Remeron ® Wellbutrin ® Day 19 (already?) Remeron ® Wellbutrin ®

Feeling:

In shock. I don't feel like I slept, but I slept about ten hours. Hmmm.

Could it be that I feel like I'm pulled in a million directions, and there just aren't enough hours in my day?

Nah, that couldn't be it...

Something scary:

I'm getting lots of hits on my journal because of all the times I mentioned Remeron and Celexa, so I pop up in the search engines quite a bit. I am starting to think maybe I need to do a summary on my experiences with medication, because apparently there are lots of people wondering about psychiatric medications.

What's so scary about that? I'm getting a remarkable number of hits on the search phrase "remeron overdose."

Even more disturbing, I come up as the second site on such a search.

Music that explains my current state of mind better than I ever could:

"Peace of Mind"
By Boston, from their self-titled debut album

Now if you're feelin' kinda low
'Bout the dues you've been paying
Future's coming much too slow
And you wanna run but somehow
You just keep on stayin'
Can't decide on which way to go
Yeah, yeah, yeah

I understand about indecision
But I don't care if I get behind
People livin' in competition
All I want is to have my peace of mind

Now you're climbin' to the top
Of the company ladder
Hope it doesn't take too long
Can'tcha you see there'll come a day
When it won't matter
Come a day when you'll be gone

I understand about indecision
But I don't care if I get behind
People livin' in competition
All I want is to have my peace of mind

Take a look ahead, take a look ahead

Now everybody's got advice
They just keep on givin'
Doesn't mean too much to me
Lots of people out to
Make-believe they're livin'
Can't decide who they should be

I understand about indecision
But I don't care if I get behind
People livin' in competition
All I want is to have my peace of mind

Take a look ahead, take a look ahead
Look ahead

Why do I pay attention to fortune cookies?

Tonight I ate Chinese take-away. I've been eating take-out a lot lately. This cookie bothered me, though.

"Happiness is the reflection of a smile." What exactly is that supposed to mean? If you act happy, you are happy? If you seem happy, then you'll be happy? Or just act a certain way for everybody else's sake?

You know, when I used to be into machine intelligence we used to go around and around with one of the eternal debates in AI: how do you know if a computer program is intelligent? Some people seemed to say that if it acted intelligent, then it was, for all intents and purposes, intelligent.

When I apply this argument to this fortune cookie, though... I just don't know. I can act okay, but inside I feel like I'm dying a little bit. It's all false, and we all know it.

Are we ever really happy though?


It's gray and rainy outside, sort of like my outlook today.

I haven't been much in the mood to do anything. I've been missing doses of Remeron and Wellbutrin here and there, so I haven't felt as good as I usually have. Thus, I've been playing catch-up.

For instant, last night I took two Remeron. I felt like I was trying to push my way through a thick mass of aerogel; I was awake, but there was just this stuff everywhere, blocking me.

Finally, I took a Wellbutrin, and I felt okay, after giving it about a half-hour to take hold, watching "Family Feud". Or maybe it was just watching "Family Feud", I don't know. Either way, I guess?

Well, finally I figured I better get busy doing what I needed to accomplish. I got after it with my beard trimmer and sliced off about two pounds of facial hair, and then got in the car and got a haircut. People were telling me my head looked like a big, fluffy brown end of a Q-tip. (I asked them if that meant that I looked like my head was covered with ear wax, but they didn't really answer that.)

I pulled up to the hair stylists' place, and it was very deserted. Just me, and this one woman in her mid-fifties sitting out front, who got up when I got there. Turns out, she was the stylist on duty. We go in, I sit down, and she starts to cut my hair.

She starts cutting, and almost immediately, the phone rings. "Hold on a minute," she told me and she picked up the phone, and had a short but slightly heated conversation with whoever was on the other end. Afterwards, she put the phone down and came back and started cutting my hair.

After a couple minutes she looked at me in a way that I think was kind of funny (it's hard to tell without my glasses), "you've been here before, haven't you?"

"Yeah," I said. I don't come for the conversation, y'know.

"Has this girl who is usually over there cut your hair before?" She motions over her shoulder with a comb.

I don't know, I think. I decide to say that, too.

"Oh. That was her husband on the phone." She paused a minute, as if she was considering if she wanted to say what was on her mind, and then decided to go ahead and spill it. "You know, he's the most no-account fella that I've ever seen in my life. He's mean. He was calling to tell me that she won't be in tomorrow."

I wonder what he did, I thought, and worse, I felt like I was expected to say something, so I opened my big mouth. "Is everything okay?"

"No... hold your head still. She's in the hospital. Look down." Very non-chalant of her. A practiced non-chalant. She's a world-class gossip.

I complied; I don't want an ear cut off. "In the hospital? Is she okay?"

"Yeah, she's probably tried to kill herself again."

Now, first - she doesn't know me from Adam. (Sandler, not the mythical one.) Why is she telling me this? And second, if she knew me, she'd know this was a bad thing to be telling me anyway. And last, but definitely not least, should be she spreading this around?

Poor thing, though.

My stylist continues, "Yeah, she gets all upset over this bad relationship she's in, and instead of leaving him to make a life for herself and her kids she tries to commit suicide."

"Someday she'll make the right decision, though." I really believe everybody comes to the right conclusion eventually. Sometimes it's too late, I think, but I still believe everybody figures things out.

"Yes, but eventually she'll try and one of these times she'll make it stick." I nodded solemnly.

There was nothing left to say - we remained silent until she finished.


Is anybody ever happy? Why do we do things that make us unhappy? Are we hoping they'll get back to where they were before?

Right now I find myself in such a conundrum - Gurugrrl and I are trying to figure out where we went wrong.

She's right about everything she says. We used to have a great time together, lots of laughs. We enjoyed each other's company. Now we're both desperately unhappy for some unfathomable reason. What happened to us?

I wish I knew that we'd get back to where we were before. While we were discussing it, somehow, we slipped into talking about something. As she said, we were in "the zone," it was just like that. It was good, but then I "caught myself" and wouldn't even let myself feel that way. The good feeling drained away; it's like I willed myself to be miserable. This, in turn, made her feel uncomfortable.

I'd give almost anything to get things back the way they were, and for them to stay that way. That's the Gurugrrl that I fell in love with, and when I am that way, I'm the me that she fell in love with. Unfortunately, Thomas Wolfe may be right, and you might not ever be able to go home again.


An excerpt from an email I sent today to Booby (quoted is her, regular is me):

> ... I must say, I was really surprised, I thought
> she was a happy-go-lucky girl and I saw her journal
> and she is in as much pain as me, you or probably
> any other lost person out there.

I think everybody's in pain.

You know, the other day I was thinking that I have always been this way, it just gets to me more now. Even times when I thought I was *really* happy, like when I was in my late teens/early twenties, I think I was like this then, too. I think back then I was just having sex regularly, and that made everything seem all right. ...

I don't know what makes that sadder - that I can be so flip about something like that, or that I believe it's really true.


So what do I think of happiness? I think it's fleeting. I think maybe Bellona was right when she said that we all live in Hell. I think that if I were happy I wouldn't even recognize it.

Maybe I'm expecting too much out of life. Maybe life was too easy in some aspects, so that when the going got tough, I folded. Maybe it's made me a complainer.

I'm really sick of hearing myself complain. (It is, after all, my biggest complaint about myself.)

Will I keep looking for it? I don't know.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>