15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
This must be the "backwards" in "backwards compatible"
20:15:00 on 2000-01-19

Remeron ® Day 13 Remeron ®

Feeling:

Good ol' lucky thirteen. Good thing I'm not triskaidekaphobic.

I'm not having good luck with things in life, but I'm coping extremely well. This medication is having a definite effect. I've even been reading, and am contemplating if I should go back to school in September. I want a full therapeutic dose, dammit!

Oh, two sucky side effects; first, I haven't had much drive to get out and walk. I go through phases like that, though, so I'm not ready to attribute it to the pills. Also, my sex drive has gone to nearly nil, which is okay, because it never really got the best of me most of the time, anyway, and I can't really do much about it, anyway.

Okay, so I was sitting here the other day working on some simple stuff for a new (and larger, yay!) site design, and I was taking a look at it in IE 4.01. The trick is that IE 4.01 was choking on some simple mouseover javascript code.

Hmmm. I substitute it with a couple other mouseover scripts, and it chokes on those two.

Well, okay, it's not quite choking. It executes the code, but then about 45 seconds later explorer grinds to a halt, and then the rest of the computer gets dragged down with it. It felt like a classic runaway memory leak ending up smashing some data structures in memory.

Well, remember, I applied some indiscriminate Y2K patches to Gillian. Probably one of those broke Internet Exploder by having some IE5 code in the patch, because of course, everybody upgrades the day something comes out, right? Sure. Uh-huh.

Fair enough, I think, I'll fix it by downloading and installing IE5. Download, download, download. Ugh.

I install it, life is good, the only thing that bugs me about IE5 so far is that right-clicking a link when browsing has a slight pause between the click and the popping up of a menu (I probably just need a new version of TweakUI for some new custom setting). I actually think I might do a Benedict Arnold and make IE5 my default browser.

Well, I even had the foresight to tell it to install the Chinese global IMEs for Windows for the Chinese Web Project That Won't Die. I mean, you never know, they're going to call back and say, "hey, this isn't right, it's two pixels to the left, so look at it." Groan.

Okay, fine, whatever. Unfortunately, this has an annoying side effect. I have this selector in my system tray. EN, constantly. Ugh. I don't like it. It bothers me. It's shades of my time working in the language industry full time. It mocks me.

So yesterday I deleted the IMEs. They're not going to call back anyway, and I was in the mood to destroy something, anyhow. Smashing something is therapeutic sometimes.


Bleeeble! Bleeeble! I sigh. Usually when I'm about finished fixing dinner the phone rings.

Moogie picks up. "Hello? Sure... may I ask who's calling?" She whispers to me, "it's Xander."

"Hey," I say without conviction.

"Hey. Guess who's riding my ass again."

"Who?" Like I don't know.

So he'll email me what they sent him. Ugh.


After dinner I fire up Pegasus and dial up to get my mail.

There are nine pages in there showing this mysterious so-called Extra Character that is the bane of our existence. Fun! I think they do think I can read this stuff.

I find the Word file with the original translation and open it up. It comes out garbled crap. Oh, yeah, I need to run Chinese Star.

I close Word, and go Start > Programs > Chinese Star > CS 2.97, and fire it up.

All my explorer windows disappear. None will open. I double click the icon on my desktop for drive C: and get a dialog box: "COMCTL32.EXE cannot start. OK"

Hell no, it's not okay. IE5 won't coexist. Ohshitohshitohshit.


IE5 setup says I have 54 minutes remaining in my download of the Chinese global IMEs. Wish me luck.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>