15 Megs of Fame




Diaryland is da bomb I just *have* to tell you how much this all sucks. Who're these other people he's writing about? Who's the freak writing this, anyway? What's gone before. What's going on right now? Where do *you* visit on the web? What're you building right now?


New! Search this site:



Subscribe to the notify list for announcements of updates and changes




Buy Blue


Make me a friend on Twitter.





Another smart-assed remark from Mike
Of sites and slideshows
02:00:00 on 1999-10-13

Yeah, I know I should be in bed.


I suck. Really badly.

Kirk keeps calling here asking me for this proposal to do this little toy website for the company he works for now. (Well, not quite a "company" -- it's himself and the owner, Evita.) Basically, they want something on the web to show up in search engines, market to clients, that sort of thing.

He finally called yesterday and left a message on my machine asking me if I even wanted to do it. And to tell the truth, I don't think I do.

About a month ago they asked me if I could do some slides for Evita to take around when pitching clients on the idea of the service they offer. And I said, sure, I can do that. I was thinking something along the line of the sort of presentation I normally do, and quoted them about two hundred dollars for the presentation length and materials they offered that they wanted to include in some form or fashion in the presentation. No sweat.

Well, I never hear from Kirk, and never hear... finally, I back-burnered the whole idea. Finally I ask him when I am talking to him about things, "what ever happened with that Powerpoint thing you wanted done?"

"Well," he said, "Evita got somebody else to do it. She threw the business to this other Argentinian woman that's the wife of a client. This lady specializes in that sort of thing."

Evita's buddy's presentation

This is the sort of thing they paid six hundred dollars for.

And this is something I did at the last job I worked. I'm not saying it's absolutely fa-boo or anything, but...

"Oh, okay." I just shrugged it off. No big deal.

Well, it was about two weeks after that that Kirk asked me if I wanted to do this website for them.

"Why can't that woman do it for you?" Okay, I was being snippy.

"She doesn't do that sort of thing, and the graphic designer wants too much money." Great, I get the work because I'm cheap and/or desperate, not because I do semi-decent work. "Evita wants it to follow the Powerpoint presentation, though, to give a unified image."

"Makes sense. Email me the file," I tell him.

"It's too big, it's on a bunch of floppy disks. Can't you come over and get it?" Yeah, I thought to myself. I can drive all the freakin' way across Houston, it's not like I don't have anything better to do, when you could just email me the stupid thing. Argh.

I go over to get the presentation and a packet of their printed materials. When I get home, I can't believe my eyes, and talked to Kirk.

"You paid how much for this presentation?"

"Six hundred dollars. Why? Is it no good?"

Ohmigawd.


Interesting conundrum. Should I just be angry, and blow them off? Swallow my pride and give him an estimate and be done with it? How about bid him to redo the Powerpoint presentation along with the website?

I am not following that butt-ugly Powerpoint presentation that woman did. I couldn't, in good conscience.

My pride says just let them get the graphic design firm to do it for them. It'll cost them a pretty penny that way. I feel slighted, actually, because this woman charged them three times the amount for this... farce. And now they want me to give a unified image based on that?

But then, I hate to say "no" to anybody. And it's not like I can't use the money. And my pride isn't worth a whole lot anymore, really.

It's just as well. I needed to do the estimate tonight. It just slipped my mind. It's not like it's terribly important to me -- the worst that can happen is that Evita will get tired of waiting and go with the graphic design firm. So what? But then, if I make a few hundred, that's enough to get restlessmind.com hosted, get some hardware and get busy on setting up that project, which I need to do badly so I can work on rebuilding some of my skills.

Hard to say. But regardless of what I do... it's time for sleep.

restlessmind


Ancient history:
2013-03-01"You'll be stone dead in a moment!"
2007-08-07I covet fuck you money
2007-07-16My own long, dark tea-time of the soul
2007-07-11My internet experience is lacking
2007-07-10Coincidence



<< Before nowAfter now >>